Sweet Potato BBQ Ranch Pizza

I came across this recipe on Pinterest, and the words “sweet potato” stood out to me and I registered it as a healthy recipe. Now, come to think of it, anything with BBQ sauce AND ranch dressing can’t be that healthy. Store-bought dressings contain way too much sugar, fat and unhealthy oils to be included in the “healthy recipe” crowd. However, I partly combated that by making a homemade ranch dressing out of cashews. I skimped on the cheese, and made a whole wheat pizza crust. The BBQ sauce is still an indulgence.

I love sweet potatoes so much that I wanted my blog to just be titled “Sweetpotato.com” because to me, a sweet potato is the epitome of delicious, healthy, and cheap. They’re also versatile. I mean, it can be a fry, a quesadilla filling, a pie, a casserole, a soup….and this time a star pizza topping.

This recipe can go together quickly if you have prepared pizza crust (whole wheat pita, naan, or frozen dough you can pull out), and prepared homemade ranch.

DSC_6165

Sweet Potato BBQ Ranch Pizza

adapted from peasandcrayons.com

1 recipe whole wheat pizza crust (this is a good one)

1 medium sweet potato

1/4 cup BBQ sauce

1/2 cup grated cheese

1 cup arugula (I used kale and spinach, because that’s what I had on hand)

2 tablespoons ranch dressing

2 tablespoons chopped red onion

  1. Prepare pizza crust. While dough is rising, prepare the ingredients for the rest. BTW, thin pizza crusts taste best for this recipe.
  2. Peel and slice the sweet potato into thin slices. Boil in a saucepan 3-5 minutes until tender. Drain and set aside.
  3. On prepared pizza crusts (either baked or unbaked), spread BBQ sauce. Sprinkle with a little cheese, then top with sliced sweet potatoes, and then another thin layer of cheese. I used cheddar because that’s all I had, but mozarella would also be good.
  4. Bake at 450 for about 10 minutes, or until crisp and golden.
  5. Sprinkle with red onion, arugula, and ranch dressing. Makes 2 medium-size pizzas.

Here’s the link to the Vegan Ranch Dressing recipe I used. Homemade dressings are a huge step towards healthier eating. In this case, the dressing is nutritious (all nuts are high in protein and healthy fats that actually help to get rid of bad fats!).

Leave a Reply

