Flax Seed Egg Substitute

This is one of my favorite cooking hacks ever. How many times have you been half-way through making pancakes, muffins, cookies, or something, and realize you’re out of eggs? The last thing you want to do is run to the store, but you’re already too advanced in your recipe to give up now.

Welcome flax seeds. They’re a lifesaver. I always have a jar of ground flax seeds in my fridge. I add them to smoothies, granola, and baked goods (they’re super healthy and high in omega-3’s), but my favorite use is to replace eggs in baked goods.

Eggs are not as healthy as we tend to think of them. I haven’t completely banned them from my diet, because it’s still a fairly cheap way to get protein, and they’re just delicious. But for the most part I don’t eat them. I love that I’m able to cook normally without them, and save money by not buying them. If you aren’t opposed to eggs because of health reasons, you at least might be interested in buying fewer because they’re so expensive right now!

I’ve yet to have this substitute fail me in baked goods. It’s great in cookies, muffins, banana bread, pancakes–everything I’ve tried. I have heard that they don’t work well in waffles–it makes them stick to the waffle maker too much.

How to use flax seed as an egg substitute:

It’s best to use freshly ground flax seed. I buy flax seed from the bulk bins at WinCo. Usually it’s less than a dollar for more than a cup of whole flax seeds. Then I use my blender to grind them up. A small hand-held grinder would work even better.

To replace one egg: Mix 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds with 3 tablespoons water. Let sit for a few minutes, and use as you would an egg in baked goods.

I’ve also heard you can use chia seeds.

Leave a Reply

